Skip to main content

Step up and speak out for mental health

Help ensure student health and well-being as a member of the Chancellor’s Student Mental Health Council.

A bike path with a dotted yellow line extends into the distance; the sun rises beyond the science building to the left.

Purpose and expectations

The IU Indianapolis Chancellor’s Student Mental Health Council creates a space where student leaders can share information with campus leaders about student mental health. The council members are expected to:

  • Learn the programs, services, and resources available for students.
  • Identify gaps among current offerings.
  • Help identify viable solutions to better meet student needs.
  • Serve as liaisons between the council and the student body.
  • Actively engage the campus community around student mental health.
  • Identify ways to communicate the council’s work to the campus community.
  • Attend monthly meetings (additional meetings as necessary).
  • Remain in good standing with local, state, and federal laws and policies and university policies and standards.
  • Honor confidentiality of information disclosed.
  • Serve a one-year term from spring through the following spring.

Who can join?

To be eligible for council membership, candidates must:

  • Be in good academic and personal standing at the time of application and throughout their term.
  • Be enrolled in at least:
    • 12 credit hours (undergraduate students)
    • 8 credit hours (graduate and professional students)

Application process and timeline

Applications for the Chancellor’s Student Mental Health Council open in January. New members are typically notified in March.

Staff from the Division of Student Affairs and Academic Affairs will review applications and recommend candidates. The IU Indianapolis Chancellor will invite council members to serve.

2024-2025 council member application timeline:

  • January 22: Applications open
  • February 5: Applications are due at 11:59 p.m.
  • February 12–23: Interviews held
  • March 15: Chancellor invites new members

2023-2024 council members

  • Moriah Carmel, graduate student, MD and MBA, School of Medicine
  • Casandra Carrillo, graduate student, biological sciences, School of Science
  • Michaela Di Palmo, senior, music theory and psychology, School of Engineering and Technology and School of Science
  • Hayden Hurst, senior, biology, School of Science
  • Michael Peck, senior, psychology, School of Science
  • Lakshmi Ananya Pendela, sophomore, biomedical informatics and neuroscience, School of Engineering and Technology and School of Science
  • Sumya Saini, graduate student, biology, School of Science
  • Ayesha Saeed, senior, business management, Kelley School of Business
  • Yamano Uno, junior, neuroscience and biomedical engineering, School of Science and School of Engineering and Technology

Ex-Officio Members

The Chancellor’s Student Mental Health Council also benefits from the valuable insights of our ex-officio members, who represent the undergraduate and graduate student bodies.

Jaideep Kakar, senior, finance and economics and international studies, Kelley School of Business and the School of Liberal Arts

  • President of Undergraduate Student Government

Tatianna McKissick, graduate student, dental surgery, School of Dentistry

  • Secretary of Graduate and Professional Student Government

IU Indianapolis

Office of the Chancellor

University Hall, Suite 5010
301 University Blvd

Indianapolis, IN 46202